Make my plans your plans.

Today I read Psalm 112, Proverbs 16, 1 Samuel 22, 23, and Romans 15.

In Samuel I am reading about Saul on the hunt to kill David.

In Romans Paul is explaining a bit about our question from yesterday. The question of why we would change our behavior in front of someone who thinks it is wrong even if we don’t. Like eating pomegranates, if someone thought it to be a bad thing to eat them so we don’t eat them in front of them. Paul says those who are strong in faith should help those who are weak. (the strong believing the pomegranate is okay, the weak being afraid to eat pomegranates). Paul says we change our behavior to make them stronger in faith. This seems like the opposite to me, but again I am not the maker of the rules here. I am the follower. And I want to follow and please God with what I do.  And that is all Paul really says about that.

Later in the chapter he asks for prayer in his work, he says in 15:30, “Brothers and sisters, I beg you to help me in my work by praying to God for me. Do this because of our Lord Jesus and the love that the Holy Spirit gives us.” This is really cool to me especially since I read Proverbs 16 today. It is full of verses that tell us that only God can make our plans successful. So Paul asking his buddies to pray for what he does is really awesome. Here are the verses that I saw today that talk about this.

Proverbs 16:1 People may make plans in their minds, but only the Lord can make them come true.

Proverbs 16:3 Depend on the Lord in whatever you do, and your plans will succeed.

Proverbs 16:4 The Lord makes everything go as he pleases. He has even prepared a day of disaster for evil people.

Proverbs 16:9 People may make plans in their minds, but the Lord decides what they will do.

Proverb 16:33 People throw lots to make a decision, but the answer comes from the Lord.

I also realize that I do stuff all the time without consulting with God. Why? I just don’t think about it. Here I read this, and this isn’t the first time, but apparently it hasn’t sunk in yet?

LORD, thanks for another day. Thank you for the verses in Proverbs and also for the example of Paul and how he puts into practice your teachings. Forgive me when I don’t talk with you about my plans and when I make decisions without your involvement. I see, and have read before, how only with you will those plans be successful. Lord I want you to be involved, I want to ask you what it is you want me to do. I will remember to do this from now on. I want my plans to be your plans and my decisions to be your decisions. Thank you for making our communication so easy, forgive me when I ignore the fact that you are always there and ready to hear me if my heart is right with you. Please guide my actions today, lead me to where you want me to go and what you want me to do today. Thank you LORD, In Jesus’ name, amen.