Do to others…

Good day! Today I read Matthew 6-8, Psalms 4, 5, and 2 Chronicles 11-17. In the scheduled reading I noticed the 2 Chronicles 13 is missing!  Oops, I read it anyway 🙂

I like verse 5 of Psalm 4, it says, “Do what is right as a sacrifice to the LORD and trust the LORD.” Interesting how doing what is right is to be a sacrifice to the LORD.  I think this is like fighting against what we want to do. (Which is not ‘right’, or not as God wants us to do.) So we are sacrificing our actions and choosing to do what God says. And when we trust the LORD, like the rest of the verse says, and we do things his way, verse 5:12 tells us what happens. It says, “LORD, you bless those who do what is right; you protect them like a soldier’s shield.” This promise is all over the bible, and it is so true. 🙂

In Chronicles I read about divided Israel and how they were wanting to go to war against each other. Interesting that Benjamin is with Judah under the authority of David’s family. A guy named Asa becomes king of Judah and he is an awesome dude. There is a seer or prophet named Azariah, who was filled with the Spirit of God and he goes and tells Asa that he needs obey God and God will be with him. He says Israel was without the true God and had no priest to teach them and were without his teaching for a long time. He tells Asa to be strong and that he will be rewarded for his good work. So Asa felt good and he removed hateful idols and he repaired the LORD’s altar. A bunch of people moved to Judah because they saw Asa following God and that God was with him. 15:9-15 is really cool, it says the people promised to follow the LORD and were happy about it. It says in 15:15, “…They looked for God and found him. So the LORD gave them peace in all the country.” We are told that Asa was faithful all of his life, but chapter 16 tells us how he did a foolish thing and asked for help from the king of Aram instead of the LORD. During his 39th year as king he got a disease in his feet and he did not ask for help from God, but only from the doctors. Wow, how often have I only gone to a doctor and not even thought about talking to God about my sicknesses. Sorry LORD, please forgive me when I forget that you are right there always, and that you are in control of all things and that you want me to lean on you in everything.

In Matthew I read 6:25, which says, “So I tell you, don’t worry about the food or drink you need to live, or about the clothes you need for your body. Life is more than food, and the body is more than clothes.” What caught my attention was about the food. Life is more than food. How often do I think about food? A lot. But life is more than food, cool.

Then Jesus also says in 7:12, “Do to others what you want them to do to you. This is the meaning of the law of Moses and the teaching of the prophets.” Wow! How much more point blank can Jesus be?! The whole law of Moses and teachings of the prophets summed up in that one sentence! Imagine how things would be if everyone did what Jesus has said? It would be heaven.

LORD, thank you for always being there and being involved in my life even when I forget to include you. Forgive me for leaving you out. I want to make every decision be inline with what you want for me to be doing. I want to sacrifice my own desires, forbear them, and do only what you want, just like the Psalm said. Today I am also reminded of what you have said concerning others, to treat them the way I want to be treated, please help me to remember this each day. Help me to see others as you see them, and ultimately treat them right. Thank you for another awesome day, I love you LORD and I am looking forward to the future with you.

One thought on “Do to others…

Leave a Reply

